Limerick vs Tipperary

On Wednesday the 5th of April Limerick minors took on Tipperary in the Munster minor quarter final in Semple Stadium Thurles. Both counties have had recent success in the minor grade with Tipperary winning the All Ireland last year. Both team were keen to get off to a good start but Tipp began to get the edge when they were leading by 3 points. They then stretched the lead and got a goal, Limerick responded well with a goal of their own through Dylan O’Shea. Paul O’Brien got the teams level with points from frees and the side were level at half time. In the second half Limerick were brilliant and Dylan O’Shea’s second goal on the 34th minute rekindled their challenge. Limerick kept at it during the game and eventually drew level at 2-16 to 3-13 with the game nearing an end. Paul O’Brien then got 4 points in quick succession and Limerick led. With the game finishing up Limerick led by 2. In the dying moments Niall Hoctor got a decisive goal for Tipp to win it. The game ended with Tipp tapping over 2 more points and ran out winners by 3 points on a scoreline of 4-15 to 2-18. There was an attendance of 2567 in Thurles.


East Hurling Final Replay

Two weeks later the replay of the east final was played on a hot balmy evening in Cappamore. It was sure to be another cracker and Dylan Conway had got his red card rescinded. The first half passed in a flash and Caherline were leading by a point at half time. There was tubs of ice cream being sold at half time like they were going out of fashion. The second half started at a frantic speed and there was ash plant flying. Ballybricken started the better and Dickie Power tapped over 3 points from frees with Paul Hedderman getting off the mark from play with a point from the sideline underneath the stand. Going into the last 10 minutes it was 17 points to 15 to Ballybricken. The monk hit the puck out and it was snapped by Davey Wixted who cut through the Ballybricken defence like a hot knife through butter, he hit the 21 and riffled the ball passed Shane O Neill into the top corner before giving the obligitory fist pump. The chips were down and the came was in the melting pot, with a point in the game Ballybricken won a free which was tapped over by Dickie Power. The puck out landed and Jimmy Lonergan bust out with the ball and dropped it over the lat. The roar went up and BallyBricken were crowned east champions.

East Hurling Final 2016

It was in the summer of 2016 and Balyybricken were playing their local rivals Caherline in the east Junior A hurling final. There was a massive build up to this game and it didnt disappoint. During the game both teams traded scores and with about 20 minutes left in the game it was 1-15 to 2-12. The game then took a bad turn for Ballybricken when star man Dylan Conway received a straight red card for a wild stroke on David Wixted. Wixted hit the floor like he was shot and Conway made the long walk. Caherline then started to to tack on a few scores and with 5 minutes to go they led by 3 points. In the dieing minutes Ballybricken goalie , Shane O Neill lofted a hail mary ball into the edge of the square, John Lyons rose the highest to double on it and it ended up in the back of the net. The roar went up and the game finished a draw and Ballybricken lived to fight another day. There was a huge sigh of relief and there would have to be a replay.